In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, kids are sometimes taught that challenging enthusiastically can reach any types of goals. I believe that this idea has both positive perspective and negative perspective so the essey will discuss the merit and the demerit. To begin with, the message definitely encourages children to start putting the effort because they can accomplish anything they want regardless how to acheive and their level of the abilitiy. For instance, when I was a kid, I was not able to swim. However, after a teacher had been giving a message that you can do it if you do your best, I got motivated and tried swimming many times, then I could swim at length. Therefore, the message has a value for kids. On the contrary, the idea might make children dissapointed if they could not achieve with their hard effort. As a matter of fact, the meaning of message may be able to encourage them but that is only a trigger that provokes their motivation. For example, I had been told that if I had to practice running hard, I could absolutely win the cup but I could not have any good results in the races. After that, I noticed that doing something just hard does not generate the ideal result. Hence, sometimes, the message works negatively. To conclude, the message that doing hard can achieve anything definitely motivate children. However once they could not achieve what they wanted to accomplish, they might feel the idea does not work for them and in general.