More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative impact?

Working from home is a current trend because of the latest technological advancements. Some consider this trend a great blessing as it allows them to set their own pace. Although this trend has several positive ramifications, it is not without drawbacks. Analysing work -life balance disruption and stressful implications on employee well-being will prove this thesis true. To begin with, it would be impossible for the employee to prioritise work and family as he is living and working in the same location. For example, one of my friends working for a multinational company is expected to be on-call for odd hours. Due to this, the reason it is extremely impossible for him to give time to his wife and children. Thus it makes it clear that this work setting could easily affect work life balance. Furthermore, organisations expect that the employee working from their comfortable environment must perform up to their full potential which can lead to stressful work pressure. The American theory on work related stress plays a good example here. This widely supported theory suggests that employee working from their home are prone to more stress and anxiety compared to working from offices. Moreover, this condition can also contribute to their physiological and social well-being. Hence it is true that this type of work can harm individuals in several manners. In conclusion, it is evident from the reasons mentioned above that although setting work pace is substantial, however, living a stress-free life and maintaining work life is more imperative. Thus it is true that this type of work setting brings more harm than good.