Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, most young people have some type of electronic device, and mobile phones are the most widely used. People have different opinions about children using their phones during school hours. I believe they should not be allowed to use them because it can be counterproductive to their learning. On one hand, it can be argued that children need their cell phones in school. Firstly, they need them in order to be in touch with their family. These days it seems to be important for parents to have continuous contact with their child for safety reasons and their phones are the perfect tool to do it. Also, some people think that the phones could be useful for study purposes, such as reading books or searching information for their classes. There are several apps designed for educational purposes which can be an excellent complement to the lecturers. On the other hand, some people argue that phones can be a barrier for children. Firstly, they disrupt socialization, as instead of talking or playing with their classmates they spend free time playing or surfing the Interfet. Furthermore, phones can be a distraction during their classes, bringing negative consequences for their learning. But what is more worrying is that they can access inappropriate content without parental supervision. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against the use of phones by children during the school day, but I believe that using their phones should be banned in order to improve their learning and socialization experience at school.