In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In our modern world, there is an over-saturation of products available in the markets. In an attempt to overcome this and gain new customers, businesses tend to promote their products as new and original. The following essay will discuss why businesses employ this tactic and how it is an adverse development. Manufacturers often utilize marketing strategies in order to appeal to new customers and subsequently be able to hit their target sales. By advertising their product as innovative, a consumer’s interest is piqued. As a result, they would rush to be one of the first few who purchase said product. For instance, in 2020 Dyson Electronics released their V2000 vacuum which they claimed to be the first ever vacuum that efficiently targets pet hair, following which their revenue substantially increased. Clearly, advocating for the uniqueness of a product yields positive results for companies. Regardless of a company’s motivation to conduct such advertising, it is more often than not, false and misleading to the consumer. A significant proportion of the advocated-for products are, in reality made generically with only a few minuscule modifications, nothing new or groundbreaking. The repercussions of this dishonesty are that ultimately, the company would lose its target audience and experience a drastic decline in both sales and reputability. A corroborating example of this is the bankruptcy that struck an infamous vitamin supply company in 2018 that had previously claimed to have produced a unique, caffeine-free formula that provided sufficient vitamins and made one feel more alert. Shortly after, consumers found out that the vitamin concoction in fact had coffee in it. Undoubtedly, they were enraged by the deception and consequently boycotted the company. In conclusion, it is understandable why a business would use drastic measures to advertise the inventiveness of their respective commodities. However, it is my opinion that such tactics always bring about repercussions.