Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometime starting until the age of five or six, right up until the age of eighteen. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

At present age, youngsters are compelled to attend tests and exams at school mostly from the age of five or six to the age of eighteen. There are obviously some positives and negatives to appearing for exams at such a young age. The following essay will explore the benefits and drawbacks of it. To begin with, there are several benefits of doing tests and exams at school and generally most of them are focused on preparing the youngsters for the future competitive world. To illustrate, when these youngsters will become adults they have to prove themselves in various sectors such as education, employment and even in professional fields. Therefore, parents of children are more conscious to make their children ready for their future and schools are just fulfilling the wishes of the parents. For instance, a recent survey illustrates that approximately 80% of parents have voted for exams or tests from the age of six to evaluate their children's capabilities. Hence, schools are inclined to arrange exams for children. Like every coin has another side, sending youngsters to the exam hall has some drawbacks as well. Some specialists believe that attending exams at such a young age leads to detrimental consequences for children because their young minds are still not prepared to endure the exam pressure and stress. Furthermore, that exam fear may causes a long-term effect on them and as a consequence they might fear encountering any kind of challenge in future life. For example, a recent report published in a renowned newspaper demonstrates that exam stress consequently hampers the emotional well-being of children from age six to ten. As a result, most child psychologists do not support exams at primary schools. To conclude, though exams are an indispensable part of student life pressurizing youngsters at a very young age to attend exams sometimes does not bring positive results always.