More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative impact?

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the entire world was under lockdown, and movements of people were restricted. At that point in time, in order to keep the operations of businesses moving, many companies relaxed their policies and asked their employees to work from home. However, even after moving back to our routine lifestyle, we see more and more firms allowing their workforce to operate at home. In my view, this is a positive development, and this essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. Allowing workers to work from home certainly benefits the companies. This is because it tremendously reduces fixed operational costs, thereby saving a lot of money, and increasing profitability. To cite an example, in the case of an office setup, employers have to spend on infrastructural rent, electricity, water supply, canteen facilities, pick and drop services, helpers to maintain the building, etc. Moreover, these expenses had to be paid irrespective of whether the firm was making profits or losses. So, asking employees to work from their own home, makes these costs redundant, thereby reducing their operating expenses drastically. Apart from the organisation’s standpoint, working at a personal location is also advantageous for workers as it provides flexibility to operate. This means that employees working from home can access their systems whenever they wish to. For instance, if workers have some personal priorities to cater to, then the login time will be at their discretion. This enables the workers to feel independent and motivates them to perform better at their job. To summarise, in modern times, the way organisations function is changing. This new pattern is beneficial not only for them but also to workers as it helps to save costs and encourages the latter to do well. Thus, the trend of asking employees to work from home is definitely a huge success.