Road transport is taking over rail services. Discuss the positive and negative effects of this development. Is this true for your country?

Railways are being taken over by Vehicles such as cars, buses and bikes. The advantage of this phenomenon is that people are now not time -barred for their travelling whereas the disadvantage is the rise in pollution. In India, this statement is not true as only high-class individuals prefer their own vehicle and most of the population still prefer trains for long journeys. The main benefit of shifting towards their own vehicle over the trains is individuals are not time bound for their travel. In other words, there are only a few trains that run on their specific time, and if a person gets late for it then he/she may miss it, however, this isn’t the case with their own transportation. For example, there is only 1 train which runs between Delhi and Patiala, as a result, people travel by car between these two cities. On the other hand, there is a huge rise in pollution due to the increase in the use of cars. This is because, the carbon emission of hundred cars would be equivalent to a single train ’s engine. For instance, in India, the government announced for 1 week that for travel of 200 kilometres or more, the use of a train is mandatory, and it has resulted in a mass reduction in harmful gases in the air. In our country, India, there is a major shift towards cars by people from a high-income background as the same time, the normal public who are in the majority still prefer train due to the high comfort and less cost. For example, as per numerous,surveys it has been shown that almost 70 per cent of the population still travels by train. In conclusion, even though people have to stay on time to travel by train, it gives less harm to our environment. This is the reason that In India people travel more by train as compared to cars.