In the past days, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days educational sources are available online while in past, these were only present in the form of books. Although there are some drawbacks to this trend, I would argue that there are far stronger benefits. The main drawback of development is that information on the Internet is not reliable every time. Because these details can be edited by anyone at any moment, they could be different each time we check. For example, Wikipedia, from which basic details can be gained but this is modifiable and everyone can add their own information at any time which may or may not be true and hence questionable. In addition, the internet is not permanent as a few issues in data providers might interrupt the connection. For instance, Canada has spent a day without internet when a glitch was found in a few service providers and the devices without internet seemed to be of no use without internet. As a consequence, learning from the internet was impossible on that occasion. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that this trend is a positive development. Firstly, online book sources are affordable and free sometimes. As students are able to download free books from such sites while paper books on the other hand are way too expensive. For example, Cambridge provide pdfs of books on registration. Secondly, the burden of carrying heavy books has been reduced to a great extent as educational topics are available online. Moreover, online sources can be accessed at any moment which is not possible in the case of physical books. In conclusion, I recognize the possible disadvantages of online learning, I consider it to be a positive development overall because of easy and affordable access.