Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines to test the safety of the products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over animal-based testing. While some claim that these experiments should be prohibited as it is ethically unacceptable to induce animals to suffer, the opposite makes a statement that others support them due to the advantages they offer to human health and well-being. While each has its own perks, I would contend that it is ideal to combine both mentioned factors. Without a shadow of a doubt, experiments on animals for testing medicines play a vital role in the development of the medical industry. This is probably because there is little chance of finding satisfying substitutions for animals. For example, animals are used mainly because they bear a close resemblance to humans, either in behavior or in cell structures including pain, stress, reproduction and nutrition. Moreover, animal experimentation is not only for people’s sake but also for animals. Some medical discoveries can be used by veterinary surgeons to give medical care and treatment to reduce sick animals ’ suffering. Despite the justifications given for vivisection, researchers have the obligation to reduce animal testing and animal suffering. And the explanation for this could be that animals are used mostly for commercial purposes and most of them are avoidable. For example, in the cosmetic industry, people exploit animal experimentation simply for diversifying their products and maximizing profits. To be more specific, Gucci or Chanel can be cited as some of the most popular instances. Furthermore, when scientists are empowered to carry out cruel experiments like vivisection, such powers should not be abused. In conclusion, one subscribes to the notion that animals can be taken as resources intended for the benefit of humans, although meanwhile it is certain that suffering should be controlled to the minimum.