Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources, while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, scientists’ interest in the exploration of the universe is increasing. Nevertheless, it is argued that doing this consumes time, money and energy whereas others believe that it is required to discover the cosmos. In my opinion, the resources required to go to space should be spent on the country’s development project rather than wasting them in space. It is believed that learning about the universe can help us to boost our knowledge about the solar system. With the help of space travel, astronauts can prove or disprove scientific theories on the Earth such as gravity, the atmosphere, the magnetosphere and the geographical evolution of other planets. Next, the deeper we understand about our planet, the better protections can be made. For instance, satellites provide data about climate change, measure pollution, predict natural disasters and help to protect our earth. Not surprisingly, space travel assists in potentially slowing global warming by finding another habitable place or harnessing outside resources. Thus, it can be claimed that space exploration is not totally useless as it can enhance our knowledge, which is required to make preventions for our world. By contrast, exploring the cosmos costs billions of dollars while people around the world are facing famine due to the economic recession. Therefore, it is more meaningful to give hands to people who need help rather than neglecting the things happening in the world and discovering the solar system. For example, instead of splurging huge amounts of money in space, it can be spent meaningfully to improve the infrastructure of the country, upgrade the public schools and hospitals, create job opportunities for the public and donate to those who live in deprived areas. Moreover, spaceships can cause pollution because the emission of toxic chemicals in the upper layer of the atmosphere due to space rockets contributes to water pollution, for example, acid rain. Therefore, we should prioritize developing the things in our surroundings first rather than finding new habitats on other planets. In conclusion, although the discovery of the solar system can give benefits to us such as boosting our knowledge, and forecasting natural disasters, a huge amount of money has to be spent on it. Thus, I believe that the resources spent on those projects should be invested in the development programmes for humankind on Earth first who are facing difficulties in their daily lives.