Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, smartphones are essential devices that everyone owns. There are many benefits from using them due to the technology development during the past years. Not only adults but also young people are addicted to smartphones. As a result, some kids spend a lot of time on the devices, so there are discussions about the impacts of using them. This essay will elaborate on the reasons why there are comments on the kids’ smartphone utilisation and the reasons why I think that this is a positive development. To begin with, many adults are concerned with the number of hours that their children spend on smartphones because there are negative health effects. For example, the light from this device can have a bad impact on their eyes. In addition, some people have muscle pain when they stay in the same position for hours. Furthermore, some contents are not suitable for children. The content restriction should be carefully controlled by the parents. On the other hand, there are benefits from using the devices. Children can study from many online sources which provide interesting presentations. It is undeniable that there is a limitation of presentation when the illustration is printed on paper. For example, if the student studies the world map in the book, they will see it in the two-dimensional figure. However, the three-dimensional graphic can be created and shown on the smartphone’s screen. This is more attractive for learners and can help them to better understand what they are learning. To sum up, smartphones are useful tools for everyone. On the good side, they are beneficial for education purposes. On the other side, they can cause many health issues. However, parents can monitor the usage of smartphones to avoid those problems. In my opinion, this is a good development, and the children have to use it in the future. It is unavoidable.