Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduces the ammount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that messaging and email have reduced the quantity of time that people spend on face-to-face conversation these days. It has had a dramatic impact on their social lives. In my opinion, this development is as much positive as it is a negative one. There are two principal reasons why this trend can be deemed favourable. Firstly, most people are able to use the internet and communicate with their friends via messaging or email. For example, people who live or study abroad have no possibility to meet in person every day. This is because their families and friends are in another part of the world. Not only in foreign countries but also people can contact by text-messaging in the same neighbourhood.For them, it is more convenient to keep in touch with society. Secondly, while a person is applying for a job or a university, it can be easier and more practical to send multi-page documents through email. However, by looking at the trend from a different prospect, we can see that it is not without its demerits. For instance, among some friends and relatives, a bond or relationship is becoming lost day by day. Also, it leads to affect social life by not having care and love between inhabitants. Today, young generations tend to use messaging for killing their free time, instead of reading books or learning something new. To sum up, although, on the one hand, using modern forms of communication can make people stay in touch and help to exchange information, on the other, a number of young adults might be antisocial individual because of being addicted to surfing social media. Therefore, I am of the view that this is both a change for the better and for the worse in equal measure.