It is better for children if the whole family including aunts, uncles and grandparents are involved in a child’s upbringing, rather than just their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Kids absorb information and traits like a sponge, and these characteristics reflect as they grow up. In many households, extended relatives play a major role in one's rearing and this is considered to be beneficial to the young one as wisdom is imparted through many minds. The old guard is the most experienced population on the planet and is always of great welfare to learn from them. I partly concur with this notion and in this essay, I will provide my views on the topic. To begin with, cultivating a young mind and passing one's knowledge is something that everyone wishes to do. As a child in a joint family, one is bombarded with different values and teachings which help educate the brain in a variety of areas. For instance, one's father might be technologically challenged but they might have the opportunity to learn from their aunts or uncles. For example, Mark Cuban learned the art of business from his uncle who spent his thirties with them. Additionally, if the caretakers unexpectedly met with their demise, other family members may step up and foster the kid as their own. Notably, Barack Obama was raised by his grandparents after the divorce of his birth parents. In contrast, a challenging view of this belief is if someone in the clan is a bad influence or of criminal background. In other terms, youngsters are equally liable to pick up on vices as they are to virtues. As a result, adolescents are vulnerable to a life of crime. To illustrate, 60 per cent of juveniles have a relative with a criminal past. Furthermore, they are also likely to fall into a life of addiction. To emphasise, substance use disorders are often a cycle in the family. In conclusion, growing up in a joint family can be of great value to a youngster but it might also be detrimental if the exposure is corrupt. In my opinion, under the right conditions, the child is set to gain a ton of insights which would be beneficial in the long term.