It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing schools and going to the university. What are the advantage and disadvatages?

It is common to have high school students take a year break after completion before enrolling into the university. As students may have various reasons for their decision to stay a year at home, it may affect them either positively or negatively. In this essay, I will be highlighting few benefits and drawbacks associated with spending a year at home before tertiary education. University education is generally known to be expensive and waiting a year seems like an opportunity to adequately prepare financially. For instance most teenagers take on jobs like waiters or sales representatives after school to save up to pay their college tuition. Also, waiting a year at home assists them to make an informed decision concerning their career. For example, teenagers have the chance to attend seminars that educate them on career choices and the right programs to read to pursue those careers. As one stay at home for a long period, attitudes toward academic activities change. High school graduates have a change in daily activities and tend to lose focus. For instance a high school leaver may adopt playing video games at his leisure time and may choose that over reading his books or learning. Again, most youngsters who break a year easily get distracted off their goals and purpose. For example the exposure to some social media platforms like youtube and tiktok makes them easily take the path of making quick and easy money just by recording and posting videos. In conclusion, a year halt after high school may have its benefits and drawbacks but I believe with a genuine reason and the right guidance a right decision will be made, which will be beneficial to their future.