More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information, therefore there is no need for printed books, magazines and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the latest model of the e-book reader is finally released by BOOX, it has raised a trend in the fan club of the brand. Some publishers might even claim that paper-based books can be comprehensively replaced by electric ones, whereas some academics believe that there are massive hurdles to overcome for most students to adapt to electronic gadgets. From a personal perspective, I agree with the former idea as the technology encompasses some merits like portability and space-saving. To begin with, a deck of paper is actually quite heavy in comparison with a tablet. Hence, the latter can improve the portability and usage as a whole. For example, I usually struggle with bringing a book with me during commuting as the book is too heavy to hold in my hands. Unlike mobile phones, which are usually under 200 kilograms, most people bring them without second thoughts. In other words, the weight of the products can be the contributing factor to the willingness of carrying them. As a result, e-book readers which contain lightweight microchips and circuits can be the solution to it. Furthermore, paper-based publications occupy storage spaces. People who reside in small and expensive rental houses can find it difficult to keep physical ones. For instance, I can see there are many shopkeepers who are trying to sell their second-hand books while browsing online bookshops, because of insufficient space for their bookshelves. In conclusion, the advancement of technology can help with resolving many existing problems of books. Phones and e-book readers are not only lightweight but also space-savers. Actually, this trend has become more prevalent in the digital generation which is a benefit for children.