Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's scientific research world, there has been an ongoing debate on whether it should be under government control and supervision or private companies. I strongly agree with the belief of many people that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments. Firstly, scientific research is a long-run process and require continuity of fund resource for the sustainability of the research. So that, if the research is under government control, it will be supported by government funds. For instance, research about cancer medicine took a long time process, well facilities workplace, and high-risky research technology equipment. All of this needs sustainability funding to ensure the goal of research which is cancer medicine can be successful, and i think only government can provide this cause of its power and authority. Furthermore, i believe any scientific research must be under government rules for what it is for. Important scientific research activity about national security such as developing nuclear weapons is crucial research and it can be abused by the wrong people. As an example, the data or information about the research can be sold to other countries by irresponsible persons. This might not happen if the research is carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies, because government can create rules to restrict the whole research activity. In conclusion, i firmly believe that it would be advantageous for researchers if the research activity was under government control rather than private companies because the government can supply sustainability funds for the whole process and also has the power and authority to create rules to control the research purpose.