SOME BELIEVE THAT UNPAID COMMUNITY SERVICE SHOULD BE A COMPULSORY PART OF HIGH SCHOOL PROGRAMMER (FOR EXAMPLE WORKING FOR A CHARITY, IMPROVING THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND TEACHING SPORTS TO YOUNGER CHILDREN). TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is a common thought that service done for others, purely out of one’s goodwill is the highest form of gratification a person can achieve, and to teach it to the younger generation of our society is the best way to carry it forward. Adolescents, by contributing to their neighbourhood learn some essential values while, also supplementing the community. Non-monetary work may not be the ideal way to encourage the youth about it. Teens today, are more disconnected from their localities than any of the previous generations. Service to their fraternity would be of great help, as to connect with the day-to-day problems and scenarios they would likely face in the years to come. The acts of assistance would aid in instilling important virtues of kindness and selflessness whilst also improving the community. Tasks performed out of compulsion and without any rewards are usually frowned upon by everyone, irrespective of their age. Although, it is beneficial to both, the worker and the locality; it might lead to detrimental thoughts in regards to the utilities provided. Duty carried out of obligation, will not lead to the desired effects that it was originally assigned upon. In brief, it is a solid idea that the juveniles of our days should be assigned on service to the society but the idea to force them onto it might not be the brightest one. Non-monetary rewards can be given to the facilitators, to encourage them. This would be favourable to all the parties involved.