Some people think that buildings such as flats and houses should be designed to last a long time. Others believe that it is more important to provide accommodation quickly and cheaply. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowladge or experiance

Due to the ever-increasing population, more housing facilities are the need of the hour. Some people are of the view that flats and houses should be designed to last decades while the rest are of the opinion to provide quick and cheap accommodation. This essay will discuss both views in detail and explain why the former needs to be followed for sustainability. It is expected that flats and other forms of housing accommodations should be designed to last decades. This is mainly due to the following reason. First, accommodation to support a large number of individuals requires detailed planning, with robust structural design to ensure safety in the event of disasters like earthquakes and cyclones. For instance, In India flats designed for 1000 people in Bhuj survived the 2002 earthquake without any fatalities due to secure foundations. Second, as the building materials are non-renewable, it makes economic and environmental justification to have them last longer without doing renovations. Hence, considering the sustainability and safety of the occupants, homes should be built ensuring all design standards are strictly followed. On the other hand, there has been a growing uproar to make housing more affordable and quick. People are of the opinion that, the quick availability of shelter will give them peace of mind as there is a significant competition to buy oneself a house in the current market. Moreover, they think that access to cheap housing will allow them to make investments elsewhere and achieve financial freedom at an earlier age. For example, according to a recent article from the American housing authority, increased raw material costs due to the pandemic shortage led to houses being sold within a period of 2 days which makes buying extremely competitive. Consequently, people are partially correct and justifiable in search of affordable and quick housing alternatives. This essay discussed why some people believe in houses which should be economical and quickly accessible whereas others expect houses to last at least decades. I am of the opinion, that houses should be built looking at the longevity, safety and environmental impacts it causes instead of the affordability, as safety should be of paramount importance.