Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. What are the causes? Suggest some measures to reduce traffic in big cities.

Nowadays, it is true that gridlock jams are becoming an acute issue for numerous metropolitan areas. Although this problem can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, a figure of viable methods can be taken to address it. There are many driving factors that can lead to a large number of traffic Congestion. One of the primary reasons is the huge number of privately-owned vehicles. This is because the dense population moving from rural areas to metropolises for a better career means the number of private owner vehicles is also very high. Another cause of gridlock traffic is underdeveloped infrastructure. In fact, in less developed parts of the world, the quality of roads is often low with uneven surfaces and a lot of potholes due to the lack of maintenance or road capacity such as narrow road networks which can lead to heavily-congested conditions during busy times. In order to tackle this problem, the government should adopt some following solutions. First, it is essential for them to raise a higher tax on fuel or private owner's vehicles. This will make owning cars less affordable to many people. For instance, imported cars are taxed at 75% in Vietnam to reduce the demand of owners who want to purchase a private vehicle. In addition, they should also improve the poor infrastructure. This could be done by carrying out regular road maintenance to solve some inadequate gridlocks and expanding avenue networks to handle the high volume of transit. For example, in Danang City, the local authorities built many overpasses and underpasses to deal with roads that were never built to handle the volume of transit During rush hours. In conclusion, gridlock congestion can be ascribed to certain driving factors, but governments can deal with this problem by adopting the proposed approaches.