In many countries, not enough students study subjects, what are the causes? what will be the effect on society?

In recent years, many countries have witnessed a significant decrease in the number of students applying for scientific-related subjects. this is partly because it takes tremendous effort and time to become proficient in those majors. From my perspective, this tendency, if continues to happen will hamper the process of technological advancement as well as humans' living standards. there are two primary reasons to explain the lack of interest in STEM fields. it is worth noting that research on those subjects is notoriously challenging and calls for a great deal of effort, devotion, and creativity. the tremendous amount of time to self-study needed by biological majors, For instance, deters numerous Students from enthusiastically acquiring professional knowledge. Furthermore, there is a significant shortage of employment in the sector of science, and the job market is becoming more competitive. Consequently, devoting a tremendous amount of time and effort to scientific education does not guarantee a decent job for them after graduation. the trend of fewer scientists working on projects will make it more challenging to enhance individuals' living of life. the scientific community constantly strives to invent more technological devices to adapt to people's living standards, such as the internet and the automobile to cater to human life. therefore the countries have fewer Students applying for scientific majors which can lead to a shortage the state of the art services for residents' life. As a consequence, the development of a country will be adversely affected if there are fewer scientists. In conclusion, the job market being too competitive are two primary reasons leading to a shortage of scientists. if this trend continues, the development of the country will stagnate and technology will be outdated.