Some think the current generation should take steps to protect the environment for the next generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that human activities have damaged our earth enormously since 20 century. Some people don't regard protecting the environment for the next generation as our obligation. Nowadays, however, more and more people believed that we have a responsibility to give clean and comfortable earth to our offspring. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement. The first reason that I support the argument is that recently our climate has changed a lot. Some places near the equator normally have a rainy season during summertime. However, due to climate changes, now, there was seldom rain at that time, which causes crops planted by residents dead. Furthermore, because of the rising temperature, the icebergs in the Arctic melt at an unprecedented speed, causing the sea levels to rise. This can result in many islands disappearing in the near future even just a few years later. The second reason is that it is not too hard for us to make some changes to protect our planet. For example, Individually, we can decrease our usage of one-time chopsticks or bags. This method can easily decrease our demand for trees and decrease damage to oceans. In the government aspect, they can make an agreement on the use of renewable energy such as solar or wind energy. And as for the company, Companies can choose to use more recyclable materials to make their products instead of using plastic. In conclusion, although our earth has been damaged by humans, we still have a chance to protect them and provide a better environment for the next generation or even offspring.