In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Punishments have long been seen as an effective way of teaching people about the right and wrong ways of doing things. The social awareness of their existence solely encourages people to abstain from committing a crime. While some claim that punishment can be effectively substituted with a warning in several cases, I would argue that this method will not prove very efficient. To begin with, simple notices do not possess as much effect on criminals as punishments do. Many criminals, even the light ones are commonly not afraid of the warnings that bear no significant monetary loss for them. Thus, if they are able to get away with simple notices and rehabilitation curses, there is a large chance that offenders turn to crime repeatedly in the future. Furthermore, punishments in the form of prison and financial compensation also serve a demonstrative purpose. For instance, when one criminal is assigned a serious punishment, that serves as a lesson for many other individuals who have intentions to break the law. Therefore, punishments do not only help to discipline revealed criminals but also to prevent others from committing a crime. On the contrary, it may suffice for a few people to give warnings to change their behaviour. For example, those who have unintentionally broken the law or committed light forms of crime may rethink their actions after being detected. However, such cases constitute only a small proportion of all offences and identifying whether an offender deliberately committed a crime is nearly impossible for the police. Also, if courts do not assign any serious punishment for all sorts of light crimes, that will motivate many novice criminals to turn back to their unacceptable jobs. In a nutshell, punishments are the most prevalent method of maintaining peace in society and ensuring that criminals extract a lesson from their actions.