It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct. There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

At the present time, it is argued that human beings should not make any effort to put a stop to the extinction of animal species since that is a part of the natural world. I am completely against this opinion for major reasons regarding the responsibility of human beings as well as the eco-balance role of animal species. First and foremost, the increasing extinction of animal species can be caused by human beings. This is mainly because natural habitats are possibly eliminated by human activities. Due to the increasing demand for building houses and public facilities, a substantial number of trees have been cut down. Besides, pollution may derive from the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste, which might cause serious environmental degradation pushing several species close to dying out. Another risk that human beings have posed is the rampant poaching of wild animals for fur, food and human recreation. This can put an end to the existence of various species. Clear examples of this are rhinos and elephants which have disappeared in many parts of the world because of being hunted for their horns and tusks. Another justification for saving animal species is the fact that they play a vital role in the balance of the ecosystem. To begin with, since each and every species has mutual influences on others, the extinction of one could result in the others diminishing. Consequently, this might lead to an imbalance in the ecosystem. In addition, it is the interrelation between plants and animals that significantly contributes to the ecosystem. To illustrate this point, flowers would be on the verge of disappearing provided that they were not pollinated by bees. Therefore, plants need animals to survive and vice versa, or else there will be a substantial loss of biodiversity disrupting the balance of the ecosystem. In conclusion, there is an argument that the extinction of animal species should not be prevented by humans. However, I completely disagree with this opinion for reasons in terms of humans’ responsibility together with the eco-balance role of animal species.