In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, the growth of large shopping malls is uncontrollable. In Jakarta itself, there are approximately 150 plazas and even there are 10 plazas in only one district. That is a big number of large shopping plazas. But why has department store development become uncontrollable? One of the reasons is the high demand for department stores itself. People come to plazas for recreation, especially in Jakarta. Shopping malls in Jakarta offer many things, for, example luxury boutiques, amusement stores, restaurants, parks, events, etc. This phenomenon has caused many small local shops have closed. Firstly, there are some positive sides to the implication of this phenomenon. It shows that consumers have higher purchasing power parity. In other words, the shopping capacity of our community is increasing. It proved by people can buy the higher quality things that are followed by higher prices too and it can be found in large shopping centres. For instance, mall developers get higher income and also governments will get more taxes. Shopping malls can also open big job opportunities for the local community around them. On the other hand, there are some negative sides that occur due to these events. Small shops, that are composed mainly of medium-low income families, will get less income than before. These families can become poor families and because of that, the government will get more burden to subsidize them. Poor communities can also increase criminality in society, as they are hopeless to get a decent income. To conclude this discussion, the increase in consumer visits to large malls has its own positive and negative sides. One of the solutions to these problems is to give small shops a permit to open stalls in large malls, but they don't accept small stands. A win-win solution for increasing the earnings of small outlets and large shopping centres is to make a bazaar in the shopping centre area.