Some believe that standardized English exams, like IELTS, are just big business to make money. others, however, think that standardized English exams are important for society. Which do you believe and why Give explanations and examples to support your explanations with support your opinion.

English is one of the most widespread languages in the world. There are a number of standardised language tests conducted by various institutions, and the need for them is widely debated if they are essential or a tactic to earn. In my opinion, these exams are necessary, as they help to assess whether or not a candidate is resourceful enough to tackle their move abroad whether for pursuing further education or for professional reasons. To begin with, there has been a substantial rise in the number of students who are planning to pursue higher education in foreign universities. Most courses are taught in English, and not all of them are qualified to pursue this plan yet they apply in hopes of a better education and more job opportunities. In that case, these exams help to find out if the applicant is qualified or not, to make the most of their course. For instance, many Canadian universities demand a score of 280 or higher on TOEFL for the student to be eligible for admission. Furthermore, professionals working abroad may have to communicate with the natives on almost a daily basis. This requires a good command of the language. In particular, medical professionals interact with patients every day as obtaining a thorough case history is necessary for the right diagnosis. Also, doctors have to write important information on medicolegal documents. Therefore, it is necessary for these workers to have good proficiency in their listening, speaking, and reading skills. Hence, in many English-speaking countries, it is necessary to provide a standardised test result before obtaining a license to practise. For example, the GMC requires a band score of 7.5 or higher in IELTS for international medical graduates for them to be registered with the medical council. In conclusion, for the integrity and betterment of both parties, I believe that these tests are quintessential.