Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software? Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Many individuals choose to give their private information to software companies to use their software. Although it enhances the experience of using the application and website, I believe that the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages because these companies influence buying behaviour by showing sponsored adverts. The benefit of providing data to these companies is improved experience of using an application or a website. In other words, by giving access to personal information, software becomes personalised thus it eases the overall experience. For instance, YouTube shows personalised videos based on the search history, and as a result, viewers can find relevant videos easily on their homepage. However, I opine that providing private information to get a better experience can impact buying behaviour. On the other hand, the drawback is buying structure is manipulated by software companies by showing advertisements based on the data. That is to say, many software companies show sponsored advertisements to their users based on the data they have received. Instagram, for example, shows sponsored adverts to their users by using their private data from their smartphones and they earn money from the company which is showing their adverts over their software. Therefore, in my opinion, the demerit far outweighs the merit of sharing personal information with these companies. In conclusion, many people are sharing their personal data with companies to get access to their software. Although these companies provide better experiences based on personal data, in my opinion, the drawbacks far outweigh the benefits because they impact our buying structure by showing sponsored advertisements.