News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The news editors have the main responsibility for giving the decision for publishing news either on Television and Newspaper. This essay will explain several factors behind this important decision. Regardless of the flooded from bad news, society need a balance while exposing to the bad and good news. To begin with, the recent news has become the major decision for the news editors. Either through the television or the newspaper, the society need the exact information on what is really happening around them. For instance, if there is a crime or natural disasters, those horrible events can be used as a preventive actions for those who are not experiencing that. The second factor comes from how viral one event among the society. The viral news usually comes from the strange things, either the awesome or sad moments around society. By picking up this news, the editors usually have the contributions for making a specific TV programs become more famous. The third factor usually comes from the news in specific field that can influence other people’s lives. For example, the political news that related with the elections. Or what is happening lately around other countries, which can influence how local citizen can react. The good example coming from health issues, such as COVID 19. Despite the huge content of bad news we consumed, I believe that a balance must achieved on content we read. If society are more likely to only exposed to bad news, we tend to close our mind regarding of good opportunities around us. At the same time, if good news dominant our lives, people are more likely to not aware of the possibility about bad things. In conclusion, several factors determines the decision on broadcast news. And a balance of bad and good news need to be achieved.