Some people think that a person improves intellectual skills better when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

Nowadays, it is often argued that group activities can greatly help to improve a person’s intellectual skills. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this viewpoint, which will be further explained in the following essay. First and foremost, group work is beneficial for intellectual skills in that it enables people to fill each other’s knowledge gaps and motivates them to strive toward goals. To be specific, when working on their own, individuals may at times experience difficulties in improving their weaknesses as well as finding suitable materials and methods to complete their tasks. By working in a group, not only can they easily find help from people who have had experience previously, but through peers’ feedback, they can also make positive changes to their shortcomings faster, which can significantly reduce their time and effort. In addition, having their problems solved much easier, people working in a group will be more motivated to achieve more tasks, which can be essential if they want to upgrade their intellectual skills in the long run. On the other hand, some people argue that working alone is way more helpful because it allows them to think on their own without distractions and that finding sources of information on their own is also a way to increase intellectual skills. Although this opinion boasts some benefits on the surface, it pales in comparison to the long-term benefits that group work offers to one’s intellectual development. Indeed, although doing work alone can allow people to concentrate better, which helps them accumulate experience from their work, not having assistance from other people means that they may feel exhausted and lost of ways when the work gets more overwhelming and difficult. What is more, even if they manage to complete it, it is unlikely that they will not make mistakes and without the feedback from other people, they may become their blindspots and affect their intellectual skills later on. All in all, working alone can cause people to get tired faster and not be able to recognize their mistakes in their work. In conclusion, I support the idea that group activities can help people improve their intellectual skills because they can seek assistance from each other more easily and seeing the work done perfectly will encourage them to embark on more tasks in the long run.