While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is more common to study at university compared to do vocational training, which implies that more people should jump into these trades careers as there is a lack of qualified workers like electricians and plumbers. In my opinion, I believe that even if it is true that society needs more trades, nobody can be pushed to choose something that is not wanted. However, I do believe that government should improve trade salaries in order to attract people to do these kinds of jobs, in the case that they are not choosing them because of the payment and the working conditions. To start with, it is certain that academic studies are more common and people is being formed to be a professional in the near future. However, I think that more individuals are acceding to academic studies because of the high salaries and better job conditions. For example, a professional work such as an architect can access a high-standard quality of life, getting a great life-work balance. This can be a reason why people are encouraged to attend university. On the other hand, it is also true that there is a lack of qualified workers and one of the reasons could be because of the kind of life and amount of money that a trade person can access through his job. One example of this is the insufficient payment they get, there are statistics that had proved that trade workers have longer shifts and worse pay than before, which could be the main reason why so many people are not interested in working in this kind of job. Therefore, if the social and economic reality would be different, probably more people would be encouraged to get vocational training. In conclusion, we cannot deny that there is a current tendency of selecting professional jobs over trade jobs. But even if there is a lack of qualified workers in societies, it is not possible to encourage people to choose a job that is not wanted by them. However, what I do believe that governments can do is equalize the working conditions between these types of jobs. This way, people who are truly interested in vocational training would be attracted to do it and the economic and social conditions would not be an impediment to not choosing it.