We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own countries or communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I'm afraid that I cannot give any positive answer or agreement on the statement in the question. From my point of view, helping everyone is essential and doable, this idea is just an excuse to escape from responsibilities and duties. First of all, trying our best to help as many people as we can is an essential attitude so the second half is totally wrong to me. My own experience just proved it. I was travelling abroad and a young man who cannot speak English came to me for help to fill in a form. I could say no because I have to catch up with my bus but I did stop and helped him, then I left. The next year, I was informed that I could join in a great organization because someone recommended me. After some research, I found out that it was the young man who recommended me to his friends and his friends recommended me again to the organization. There is no absolutely isolated human being in the world, so everything you do will be connected by some unknown ties. If you do try to help everyone, then they will finally try to help you back. Another reason to support my disagreement is that the development of the technology makes it possible to communicate across time and distance. In the past, it was too difficult for us to help others living on the other half of the earth. However, the internet brought us together. For example, we can talk to those depressed ones completely online through some social applications, helping them release the pressure and giving them comfort and support. Anyway, distance is no longer an obstacle for us to help others and there are lots of methods to achieve this goal, which means the first half of the sentence doesn't make any sense. Generally speaking, helping everyone is actually possible and is exactly what we should do. If we don't keep this value in mind, we could become a selfish coward, the complete opposite of a charming and responsible man.