Some people think that renewable energy sources like solar and wind power should replace fossil fuels such as coal and gas as soon as possible. Others think we should continue to use fossil fuels while it is still cheap to do so. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that renewable energy is key to our planet's sustainability. The question is, how soon should they replace fossil fuels? Some believe that this change should be immediate, while others feel that this should be delayed for the time being. In this essay, I will attempt to elaborate on both perspectives. Firstly, we have to ask, why change energy sources in the first place? The simple answer, is climate change. It's undeniable that rising carbon dioxide levels are making significant changes to the world around us. If nothing is done about this, we are putting ourselves and our globe at great risk. One that we arguably can't afford. As a solution to this ongoing crisis, alternative sources of energy, such as solar and wind power have been suggested. These methods would help to lower our carbon footprint, and limit the damage already done by global warming. The sooner these replace non-renewable options, the sooner they can make a positive impact on the ever-growing problem of climate change. On the other hand, we have to also consider the fact that these renewable sources are incredibly expensive to produce. They require a lot of energy themselves to manufacture, and not all governments have the resources to establish them. There is also the critical issue of growing populations around the world. This has put even more pressure on those in power to provide more and more energy from non-renewable sources. For these reasons, and more, many feel that we should continue to use fossil fuels in the meantime. In conclusion, it is without a doubt that we need to find alternatives for how we provide energy to the masses if we want to secure our planet's future. In my opinion, renewable sources need to become an integral part of this process, sooner rather than later.