Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Yearly, a significant figure of minor languages disappears around the world. It is believed that the fewer the number of languages, the easier our lives are. However, I could not disagree anymore as each language can show the culture and heritage of its ethnicity. That’s why they should be maintained. Several reasons can be considered why society should let some languages fade out. Firstly, if someone can speak his mother language and an international language fluently such as English, it is possible to communicate with people around the world efficiently. It is undoubtedly certain that learning a language to the fluent level in four skills is really strenuous and lots of commitment and dedication is required as well. Meanwhile, some dialects have almost faded out due to the fewer number of people using them. Thus, it would be a waste of resources to teach them because they are not applicable. That’s why it would be really hard work to learn even minor languages in order to maintain them and letting them die out can make our life uncomplicated. On the other hand, it is claimed that a language is not just for communication. Everyone can learn the ethnic culture, heritage and tradition through their dialect and it should be inherited by the next generations. What is really vital is that every person should learn their own dialect even though they are not living in their hometown anymore. For instance, due to urbanization, the number of commuters is increasing, resulting in fewer people in rural areas, leading to the dialect in that area dying out. Besides, every ethnic group should also teach their language to the next generations, so the language cannot fade out anymore. Although learning a language consumes a lot of resources, it is required to maintain and inherit a language as a heritage. In conclusion, it does not have any impact on our daily life without knowing some dialects and letting them disappear. However, what I think is that they do not deserve to be removed since they are one of the precious heritages and worthwhile to be learnt and maintained by their ethnicity.