Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of foods imported from countries all across the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s global economy, many supermarkets offer products coming abroad, which has a negative effect on local produce because it is literally pushed out of the shelves, leaving local entrepreneurs empty-handed. I will argue that in the end, the benefits of globalization outweigh the drawbacks of local foods disappearing from shops. The globalization of our economy makes it possible for consumers to pick from a wide choice of goods that they can buy and therefore giving them easy access to them. Nowadays it is so easy to import foreign goods that supermarkets can easily fill their shelves with a variety of different items for very affordable prices. For example, today you can choose from lots of different types of mustard in any given grocery shop, whereas two decades ago the choice was very limited and expensive too. However, there is a downside to this development. More and more local businesses are experiencing hardship because there is no market for their products. Store owners prefer the cheaper, international items, rather than the more expensive local equivalents. A recent study from the University of Groningen showed that 80% of the consumers are not willing to pay a higher price for regional-grown strawberries if they can buy the same fruit for less, while its origins are from France. In conclusion, even though globalization contributes to local producers disappearing, I believe it is more important to have access to a wide range of items that are reasonably priced as well. In the end, it will benefit the majority of society and I believe the termination of regional companies is an acceptable risk we have to take.