As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With automobiles becoming more affordable than ever before, an increase in vehicles on the road can be seen. Our roads become too busy and adjustments are needed. That raises the question who should finance this: the government or car owners? In this, essay I will argue that though the administration can be held responsible for the costs partly, in the,end it is only fair car drivers pay extra to maintain our infrastructure. Of course, it is easy to say that having a good and efficient infrastructure is the responsibility of the country itself. Motorways are crucial to a nation, as they allow people to go to their work or to shops. Needless to,say government has a responsibility to cover the costs. A recent survey showed that 80% of the participants believed it would be unfair if civilians would have to pay for repairments on city streets. However, driving a car nowadays, is nothing more than a pure luxury, hence the persons using this luxury should be billed for it. There are lots of alternatives one could use. Almost every country has an ingenious railway system and almost every large city has a subway. In other words, sitting behind the steering wheel of your vehicle is not a necessity perse. It is, therefore, only fair to tax the ones who keep insisting on driving. A survey held by the Dutch Automobile Club showed that 45% of their members would be willing to spend more money on road taxes if that would mean they could use the roads without delays. In conclusion, I believe that even though government has a responsibility to uphold a basic standard of the road systems, this does not mean the government must be held responsible for the costs. With lots of alternative forms of transportation available, it is only fair to bill the people who insist on keeping driving their cars.