In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Up to high school the student only studies what is given in order to be prepared for university. However, before getting into college the young person will need to make a choice for a lifetime, as this is the moment to choose a major that will define one person’s profession, or in other words, what is going to be done for sustain from that time on. Therefore some people believe that it is important for these students to take a time from school to travel or work along a year and this essay proposes to discuss the advantages and disadvantages taking this year off. This transition between high school and university is a very important moment, because it involves the big decision about the lifetime profession. Thus traveling or working on something out of school might help to know some more about the world and how it is everything out of the academic community. This experiencing period not would only help to do a more assertive choice for the future but would also prepare better the young for the job market. Another advantage is the awakening of interests that sometimes is only possible when something new is experienced in life. Despite of all these benefits, one negative point about taking this year off is that memory about every learnt subjects on high school might be forgotten for the moment it will be needed, on the SAT exam. Even though this factor will not overweight the advantages, it is a detail that cannot be forgotten. Overall is possible to conclude that in spite of some little things that can be a negative point against taking a year off the school to work or travel, the advantages overweight in benefit on the students life.