Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar do you agree or disagree?

Throughout,history sugary products were one of the most favourable meals among population. Although it has been proven that they are responsible for many diseases, still there are discussions on how to reduce their consumption, like by making high-sugar edibles so too expensive to purchase. This might be a proper approach which will be discussed in this essay. Undoubtedly, overusing sugar has to be banned due to its detrimental effects on the health of consumers. To begin with, as it has been proven by scientific experiments taking a high level of carbohydrates like glucose or sugar could lead to many physical diseases. For instance, the number of newly diagnosed diabetes mellitus is increasing by an enormous number annually. The main reason for this is an incremental level of glucose intake utilized by population. In addition, many nutritionists suggest glucose could be an addictive substance if used regularly in a high dosage. Furthermore, it may cause both physical and mental dependency which could be aggravated by time. Admittedly, one significant way to deal with these problems, is to sanction an extra tax on enriched carbohydrate products. This would make it hard for shoppers to afford those such meals and drinks and also in some cases might shift their attitude toward healthy and less sweet ones. This idea, was used to decrease the number of smokers among the youth in Young New Zealanders. It was successful and led to a significant reduction in cigarette abuse due to its high price. In conclusion, taking high-sugar products has a considerably side effects on human health. Therefore, I am convinced that the increase in the price of these sorts of food and drinks, their consumption could become more limited and less favourable.