Multinational companies improve the quality of life in the foreign countries where they sell their goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The first and foremost goal of companies and industries is to get a profit. However, it is often debated that multinational firms are supposed to enhance the living standard of people where their product is being sold. This essay doesn’t agree with such a phenomenon as scores of factors are considered while drawing conclusions and are illustrated in this writing. To start with, as mentioned earlier numerous factors are taken into account while setting the companies, such as demand for the product, availability of cheap labour and resources, energy prices and etc. Therefore, it is not necessary that every time a company engaged in some import tends to enhance and upgrade the standard of their citizens. For example, certain countries are dependent on others for their basic commodities in such a case it is a necessity for them not to be considered as an improvement in their life. Nevertheless, it depends on what you are selling either commodities or fashion items. I believe there are more advantages to the home country in setting up manufacturing entities in their country as the number of opportunities for jobs is increased, hence improving the overall lives and livelihood of local people. Furthermore, more skills and technology are being transferred to the host nation. Furthermore, various indicators that judge the overall economy are improved like foreign direct investment. For example, China is host to a plethora of multinational giants owing to cheap labour although China itself is fast growing economy. In a nutshell, it is of utmost importance to continue the cycle of the supply chain, and imports and exports are meant to improve trade relations between countries. Since the imported items tend to either fulfil the needs or enhance their living standards.