Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time.others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is often a debate about whether children should be allowed to engage in their own activities or rather join others in various group engagements. However, I feel both these views are beneficial to the wholesome development of a child and as such parents should find a way to create a balance between the two. To begin with, Encouraging kids to get involved in activities with their peers with help build their social skills because this type of activity involves being a part of and functioning as a team. Secondly, it helps them to become bold and outspoken. To further illustrate, recent research conducted on students of a secondary school in Lagos Nigeria showed that a lot of shy and timid pupils who can't express themselves very well when given the opportunity came from homes where they are always secluded and not allowed to mingle. Furthermore, kids would develop to be more independent when we let them engage in their own activities. They would learn to not depend on anyone from a young age which is a great feat given the world we are in today. Additionally, it can be self-motivating thus expanding the person's intellectual in the process. For example, the first artificial sweetener in the world came about by chance therefore if kids are given a chance their brains will expand and they can develop a great invention too. In conclusion, there are two conflicting points of view on whether youngsters should be occupied in engagements of their own or rather be involved in group activities. In my view, I strongly believe that they should be made to participate in both as it they would benefit a lot from both approaches.