Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

While fundamental capabilities such as cooking or dressing are considered unnecessary in school curricula, some people suggest that only academic knowledge for passing exams should be taught at school. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the mentioned notion. Passing exams in schools and universities is the main goal of most students while trying to excel at certain subjects as they deem that their lives would be brighter in the future by doing so. This is the staple reason for many students and parents to have their focus on only studying what the education system presents. A prime example can be witnessed in China, where the educational paths of most students are vigorously competitive, pupils therefore study enthusiastically on a daily basis to be able to advance the examinations for instance. However, I would argue that only concentrating on academics to successfully achieve better academic results could bring detrimental consequences of lacking basic life skills, such as communicating and enjoying life in a normal way. On the other hand, cooking and dressing are one of those elementary competencies that should not be forgotten during the progress of learning. For example, over the past few years, with the emergence of Covid-19 and quarantine policy by many governments, people around the globe had to learn how to take care of themselves without any aid from external communities. Those capabilities which had been forsaken were admitted as pivotal for survival and have been adapted as key principles by many individuals. Clearly, we hardly can omit the importance of those abilities. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, I deem that the perspective of focusing only on academic subjects as well as neglecting fundamental soft skills is harmful to students’ development and therefore ought to be abolished, even in the modern era.