Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies, and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful.others disagree Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

At certain times while applying for a job, people are asked to give details on private information like their marital status,hobbies,and things that interest them. The importance of requesting details such as this is often argued about, while some feel it is relevant,others feel otherwise. However, I feel that it is not useful, they should rather focus on the skills and level of education of an applicant. To begin with, personal information about a job seeker is usually required by companies for data-keeping purposes. It might prove useful when collecting data to know which gender search for job more. In addition, such information is required when a job institution wants to be a part of their employee's life. For example, A friend of mine who works at the Federal Medical Centre Owerri receives birthday messages and allowances on her birthday from her company. On the other hand, A company should focus more on the skills of individuals. The ability to do the work is what should really matter because that is what would contribute to the growth of any organisation. Additionally, they should also check if the person has the required educational background and job experience to support the position he/she is aiming at. To illustrate further, To work in a bank,one should possess an experience in banking or sales and have an academic background in either accounting, banking and finance or Economics. In summary, it is required that applicants sometimes submit their personal details such as hobbies. However,I strongly feel that those are irrelevant, companies should focus more on traits that will improve the financial and social standing of their organisation.