Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and cociety. To what extent do you agree?

Today is an era of modernization. When it comes to social media, there are different viewpoints where one group is seen validating this trend and another, descends the same and considers it as fallacious to both individuals and civilization. In this essay, I will be opposing the latter group of people as I believe that it's not social media that is harming people and society, it's their own habits that do so. To begin with, social media has a huge impact on almost everybody's life today. There's no one, who hasn' t used any of these sites. Even children, are familiar with these sites like Facebook, TikTok, Instagram etc. Their popularity is getting outnumbered now. It is, actually, a great way to be in touch with our near and dear ones which is usually difficult in day-to-day routine. With the rapid growth in technology, everyone are having mobile phones and access to social media is easy. Secondly, there's a trend where people who don' t have an account on social media are considered outdated or old-fashioned and they feel cut off from their friends or family members. Due to the fact, no one wants to be behind, they start creating accounts on these sites, also because of fear of being called old fashioned if they don' t. Another advantage of using social media is awareness of surroundings. As there are a number of businesses now that run only on social media. If you are not on social media you cannot have knowledge of those businesses. These sites are not just limited to chatting or sharing photos, it's scope is far beyond just chatting and sharing photos. For instance, during COVID-19 complete shutdown, many businesses exclusively run on Whatsapp, where people ordered their products through these sites. Even Whatsapp Business is now launched to tackle the business needs of entrepreneurs. Although it has a number of advantages, there can be some drawbacks to using social media apps which some people considered having an adverse impact on community as a whole. There can be some notorious people living in this world too, that spread fake and malicious content on these sites. One should be careful enough to find the accuracy of the content. Even I believe, governments should build some tribunals that act as a watchdog and refine this type of content on social media. Overall, I would say being on social media is today's requirement and you can' t deny a number of benefits it has for nation.