More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and university in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Migrating abroad for tertiary education has become increasingly popular (widespread) among learners. Although it can have some negative outcomes for some, according to me the positives are more potent. On the one hand, there may be some disadvantages to certain students migrating abroad for higher studies. Firstly, some new arrivals sometimes become a victim of homesickness. Leaving their home nation and settling in a Foreign land where the culture and citizens are completely new to them with initially now family members or friends can be a really challenging task both emotionally and socially. Secondly, migrating abroad is certainly an expensive task. For example, in order to move to Canada for higher study, the candidate has to transfer and maintain a certain amount of money in any Canadian bank that can be a daunting task especially for the middle class or those who do not have a strong financial background. Hence, opting to study abroad can be disadvantageous in these selected cases. Despite the demerits discussed above, the advantages easily downplay them. In conclusion, while in individual circumstances, a few negatives are inevitable, the long term positives easily eliminate these negatives away.