Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, other claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give you own opinion.

Nowadays, tourism has developed through many generations and is considered to be a country ’s backbone. Whereas people feel that this development generally has a negative influence on living things and the environment, others claim that it is essential for the economy. In my opinion, despite the fact that it has a detrimental impact, it provides many positive points to the country. On the one hand, tourism has many drawbacks. Firstly, it might affect the security of the visited country. This is because citizens do not feel safe when going around because of the increasing number of foreigners. We might not realize whether misbehaviour can happen, and some might not obey the home country ’s regulations. Therefore, if they wanted to commit crimes, local ones would stay in scary situations and dangers. Secondly, another issue concerning visiting tourists is the environmental matter. When growing number of visitors, home countries try to produce and import goods even more than their usual demands to maintain consumption. Consequently, rising numbers of producing and consuming are likely that landfill sites will be expanded, which is unable to control. On the other hand, others believe that it also has many advantages. To begin with, it improves service sectors in nations. The reason is that the employment rate of a country enhances whenever tourists search for a comfortable place to stay. Thus, hotel and hospitality industries, such as hotels, restaurants, and tourist destinations, can grow so that those companies will employ more potential employees to fulfil their needs. As a result, industries and workers receive their profit simultaneously. Furthermore, more local products are sold. It means that when visiting a country, tourists prefer exploring and purchasing what is new, popular, and different from their nations. Hence, small businesses have a chance to sell their items to them. For instance, Cambodia has attracted many tourists, so we sell our handmade souvenirs to them, particularly in Siem Reap province. It provides income for the communities that live in rural areas. To conclude, some believe tourism negatively affects people and the environment, while others believe it should be considered central in terms of economic view. I feel that the benefits of tourism are greater than the disadvantages because it provides jobs, improves service sectors and gives local people a sum of money when selling their products.