Some people say that school children should be mainly taught about the literature (eg. fiction and poetry) of their own country because it is more important than that of other countries. To what extend do you agree?

A portion of the public believes that the country’s literature should be the primary subject in schools due to its greater importance compared to the ones from other countries. I firmly advocate this idea as passing on our culture to our younger generation is crucial and can have many benefits. Firstly, teaching the children of our traditional ways of writing can improve their understanding of our history and appreciate its fundamental values. This will further enforce their cultural identity. This is significantly important,especially in this globalized era where people have become significantly influenced by other cultures and traditions, resulting in many facing severe identity crises. Therefore, by having our own literacy subjects such as poems and fiction as primary studies, the cultural foundation of our children will be made stronger, resulting in the absence of such problems. Furthermore, minors may acquire skills to express themselves better and properly through the teachings of writing. They can experience our history secondhand through the written records from our ancestors. This will be beneficial for our youth throughout their lives, in this technological age where our feelings and emotions are not prioritized in many cases. They will learn how to deal with their negative thoughts through written forms of art such as poems and diaries, which have been proven to be effective by many scientific studies. Additionally, they may have advantages in their workplaces due to the fact that they possess proficient writing skills and considerable exposure to their own history. In conclusion, regarding literature as our primary teaching in schools can have plenty of benefits for our youth such as firm cultural beliefs and the ability to express themselves. Hence, we should adopt this teaching style if we would like our children to healthily thrive in this internationalized age.