Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that the depictions of glamorous lifestyles of the high profile figures are flooding in the internet. Although some of those celebrities set positive role models for young people, I believe that, others, on the contrary, mislead them both in thought and behavior by showing. First of all,the exposure to extravagant lifestyles can lead to the distortion of mindset and a pursuit of immediate financial success. Since the celebrities are able to earn a lot from endorsement. They purchase big houses and can afford luxuries bags and shoes. As a result, the youth, especially those earn meager wage and do not have enough disposable income, reckon the high profile figures as their fashion icons. They may purchase expensive brands to go with the flows and finally be left in financial difficulties. Moreover some well known people, such as the influencers on social media, owning billion of fans just because of their flawless and doll-like appearances. This will result in a shallow mindset that external beauty is on top of intelligence and talent and discourage young people from hard working and continuing their study. However, it is not fair to blame all those famous people. Some sports personalities and business leaders, their wealth is a justification to their yearly hard work. To be specific those famous athletes, they won fame and status through intensive physical training and showing their perseverance and hardship in the process. Similarly, as for businessman, thy have put in a lot of late nights and weekends to build their business even without certainty to success. Therefore, they deserve the fame and status, which can also stimulate the youth to work hard to reach their ambitions and owning the high quality lifestyle. In conclusion, I concede that the show-off of the glamorous lifestyles of those celebrities can lead to the negative influences on the young people as they will be instilled wrong access to success and become more materialistic. But I also believe that some of those serve as positive figures and encourage the youth to work hard and devote themselves.