Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of the school programs (for example working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to young children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

A number of people advocate that schoolchildren should be taught unpaid community service included in their curricular. I agree with this opinion and I believe that intending students to participate in charity activities, ameliorate the neighborhood and help others has positive impact on their social and psychological development. First of all, the study of community services at schools may play a crucial role in formation of a person as a good member of society since children learn how to help others without any expectation of gratitude. Furthermore, proper traits such as selflessness, kindness and sympathy can be developed in child’s behavior thanks to being enrolled in such courses. Also, community services can help to teach students discipline as well as they would know the importance of problems surrounding them, so that their horizon would be broaden. Singapore is a good example of applying this tactic: free voluntary service is a compulsory course at all schools in order to increase awareness regarding social problems. Secondly, taking actions forward charitable actions may be beneficial for schoolchildren’s mental health. Being charitable can help improve the mood and make people feel more optimistic. For example, according to study featured in journal “Prevention”, individuals who do not take the time to do community service face a 30% greater risk of death following a stressful life event than someone who helps others. So, when children’s emotional state improves, it can help strengthen immune system and health. To conclude, I support the idea of adding community services to the curriculum plans of schools as it not only contributes to children’s attitude and overall development but also improves their physical and psychological state.