There is increasing awareness of the role that greenhouse gas emissions play in global climate change. How do greenhouse gases affect our environment and how can worldwide greenhouse gas emissions be controlled?

Nowadays people are more concerned and aware of greenhouse emissions as a global issue that contributes to global climate change effects. Fossil fuels play an essential role in generating greenhouse emissions, especially in the transportation and power plant sectors. To begin with, fuel combustion in engine vehicles are produced Nitrogen Oxide gas which is really affected to reduce good air quality and depleted ozone in the atmosphere. This gas also identified by scientists can make acid rain if it is being accumulated in the atmosphere, thus it would bring disease to skin irritation as well as bad soil fertility. Furthermore, coal fire power plants became the largest emitter of sulfur dioxide, and as a,result it will affect respiratory disease and lung cancer if the concentration is above the threshold level. For instance, In Jakarta where traffic congestion was a major contributor to greenhouse gasses and many citizens are sick because of pollution. On the other hand, the world has pledged to nationally determined contribution by 2060 to reduce and tackle this global climate change effects. In addition, over 100 countries have committed to reducing fossil fuel usage and shifting their energy mix to become more renewables such as wind power, solar PV, or hydropower plants. This way is an effective method to reduce emissions because it is cleaner and greener. Moreover, electric vehicles and mass public transportation should be utilized in many countries such as Indonesia, Brazil, and China as the largest population in the world. To illustrate, Indonesia has committed to leveraging its renewable potential up to 23% of its energy mix in 2025, thus it will bring a positive impact to mitigate climate catastrophe. In conclusion, conventional transportation and fossil fuel-based power plants cause acid rain and bad air pollution to the environment, hence I personally believe that shifting to renewable energy and more electric transportation-based usage will reduce carbon emissions and prevent the effect of global climate catastrophe.