Some people believe watching TV is bad for children. Others believe it is a good thing. Compare these two views. Then state which view you agree with.

It is thought by some, watching television continuously has a negative impact on children, whereas others do not agree with them. Firstly, this essay gives detailed data about how TV can influence children in a negative way and secondly, some positive effects on children. On the one hand, technology has developed significantly over 50 years and this development has brought tons of technology devices such as computers, tablets and apart from those, television can be considered as a playground for children. Children are likely to spend their hours in front of the television watching cartoons and these types of entertainment programs influence children's mental health. In addition, they are likely to copy the behaviour of characters that they see on the television which will affect their behaviour negatively. For example, according to an investigation at the Care Center in 2018 in Canada, approximately 70% of parents said that they were forced by their children to purchase toys and clothes of cartoon characters in a single day. On the other hand, unlikely, the detrimental effects on children, watching television can assist them to improve their foreign or native language skills. Some adventure and amusement programs consist of subtitles which will help children to learn any language easily. Moreover, the languages which children learned from television can assist them in their educational life, because they would have a bunch of opportunities to enhance their language skills. For instance, according to an experiment revealed at the WHO in 2020, children who learned or listened to any foreign language during their childhood, are more likely to use their ability in any case than that of other children. To summarize, in my opinion, children should watch television especially adventure or mystic programs which help to enhance the language skills that they will use in their future life.