In some countries, governments encourage businesses to move outside of the cities to solve the problems of housing and transport in the cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Industries have been growing continuously in many nations. Therefore, the authorities have decided to relocate the industrial zone outside the cities in order to build more residential properties and improve the issue related to commuting. Analysing this could be beneficial as it will lead to less pollution in populated areas but it could also create more traffic congestion on highways. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of the same. On the one hand, the main advantage is moving businesses out of the town could solve the biggest problem of noise and air deterioration which is mainly caused by these companies. In India, for instance, in the city named Agra where one of the 7 wonders of the world exists The Taj Mahal started to turn yellow because of the acid rain caused due to the warehouses in the cities. To solve this issue, the government had to make strict rules and regulations to relocate all the industries of that city so that the monument could be preserved. Certainly, not only the important historical buildings but also human health gets affected by pollution. Thus, it is beneficial to let the companies settle outside the living area. On the other hand, the major disadvantage is this could create problems like heavy traffic on the highways due to excessive commuting of employees as they have to travel to the countryside to work. Therefore, many people might waste heaps of time stuck in transit for long periods. For example, In Toronto, most of the residents working in the warehouse have to travel to other cities which eventually wastes almost 2 hours every day while leaving and entering the city during rush time. Certainly, the congestion on the road caused by the vehicles could lead to waste of time as well as unnecessary accidents on the roads. In conclusion, the businesses are ever-growing and that forces government to let these industries set on the outskirts of the residential areas in order to solve problems like deterioration and create more houses. However, this could result in more transport during busy hours.