Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have contradictory views about whether companies should ask job seekers for their private information. While asking for that is sometimes sensitive, I believe it is necessary for both interviewers and interviewees. On the one hand, it is accepted that a recruiter asking for private details has some negative effects. Firstly, many people like to keep their personal information secret, just simply because they do not feel comfortable giving them out, and they do not like catching others’ attention. Secondly, some inside stories are so delicate that candidates are reluctant to mention them in their curriculum vitae. Finally, providing that may be the main reason that a candidate loses their work opportunities. For example, some employers still discriminate against job seekers from LGBT groups, and they often eliminate those CVs from their candidate pool. On the other hand, personal information is essential for some reasons. It helps employers find the right person for their jobs, as some positions require specific interests and hobbies, and this can save time for both recruiters and applicants at the very first stage of job seeking. For example, if you want to apply for the position of sales manager but you state in your CV that you have car sickness, you will not be an ideal person for that post. In addition, work-life balance is one of the most important things for employee retention, and thus the more detailed records the more easily the employers allocate the responsibilities to the employees. I used to work in the HR department, and I found a CV with detailed personal news impressive. In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of providing personal details when submitting a CV do outweigh the disadvantages.